Rack 'Em Back - New Orleans R&B Stompers

  • Código : 263373
  • Fabricante : Hoo Doo Records
  • Código del fabricante: 8436028694921
  • Precio: 41.99 zł
  • Recomendar el producto

Rock'n'roll/Soul Music
premiera polska:
kontynent: Ameryka Północna
kraj: USA
opakowanie: plastikowe etui

Editor's info:
From the vaults of the Imperial label comes one of the great examples of how New Orleans R&B turned into rock & roll in the '50s. The best Bobby Mitchell profile you ll ever need, these 26 recordings contain southern rhythm & blues, delightful doo-wop, hot rock & roll and early soul, with roaring horns and a bright production by the great Dave Bartholomew. Although Bobby Mitchell recorded the original version of the smash hit "I'm Gonna Be a Wheel Someday" (later performed with great success by Fats Domino), he never got his due as either a singer or a songwriter. He also recorded "You Always Hurt the One You Love" several years before his ex-sideman, Clarence "Frogman" Henry. The combination of Bobby s high tenor voice - unmistakably his own, but still within the very best Clyde McPhatter & The Dominoes tradition - with New Orleans' best session men was unbeatable. These recordings also feature a virtual who's who of fabulous musicians from the Crescent City scene, including Fats Domino, Dave Bartholomew, Clarence "Frogman" Henry, Lee Allen, Alvin Tyler, Justin Adams and Earl Palmer, among others.

"Bobby Mitchell's voice in these surroundings soars to majestic new heights of soulfulness... With Dave Bartholomew's top session men backing them up, however, their records were solid New Orleans R&B at its best, and many of the records are classics of the sound from that era."
All Music Guide

Bobby Mitchell: Vocals

The Toppers:
Lloyd Bellaire, Frank Bocage, Joseph Butler & Willie Bridges (Backing Vocals)
Dave Bartholomew (Trumpet)
Clarence "Frogman" Henry (Trombone)
Lee Allen (Tenor Sax)
Alvin "Red" Tyler (Baritone Sax)
Justin Adams (Guitar)
Frank Fields, George Davis (Bass)
Fats Domino, Gabriel Fleming, Paul Gayten (Piano)
Earl Palmer, Charles "Hungry" Williams (Drums)

1. Try Rock 'N' Roll 2:08
2. Rack 'Em Back 2:17
3. I Would Like To Know 2:08
4. I'm Gonna Be A Wheel Someday 2:23
5. I Fell For You 2:08
6. 4 X 11= 44 2:08
7. I'm Crying 2:29
8. Sister Lucy 2:27
9. I'm A Young Man 2:15
10. Goin' Round In Circles 2:32
11. I Wish I Knew 2:07
12. You're My Angel 1:56
13. The Wedding Bells Are Ringing 2:15
14. You Always Hurt The One You Love 2:47
15. I Try So Hard 2:11
16. No, No, No 1:54
17. I Love To Hold You (More And More) 2:04
18. Angel Child 2:31
19. She Couldn't Be Found 2:34
20. I've Got My Fingers Crossed 2:27
21. Hearts Of Fire 2:06
22. You're Going To Be Sorry 1:53
23. Schoolboy Blues 2:36
24. You Better Go Home 2:16
25. One Friday Morning 2:11
26. I'm In Love 2:19

total time - 60:26
wydano: 2010-10
nagrano: Recorded at J&M Studio and Cosimo Recording Studio in New Orleans, Louisiana (USA), between February 1953 and October 1958.
more info:

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: