At Town Hall [2LPs on 1CD]

  • Codice: 48723
  • Produttore: Jackpot Records
  • Codice del produttore: 8436028691456
  • Prezzo: 29,99 zł
  • Raccomandare il prodotto.

Wokalistyka jazzowa/Gospel/Soul
premiera polska:
kontynent: Ameryka Północna
kraj: USA
opakowanie: plastikowe etui

Editor's info:
2 LPs ON 1 CD!
Two complete albums by the great Nina Simone recorded in 1959. At Town Hall (Colpix CP409) was a real breakthrough in Nina's career. It showcases her singing and playing the piano backed by her own trio with Jimmy Bond on bass and Albert "Tootie" Heath on drums.
The Amazing Nina Simone (Colpix CP407), on the other hand, features her accompanied by an orchestra conducted by Bob Mersey. Includes 16-page booklet.
"The day of the Town Hall show I dressed in a long white gown draped over one shoulder and white satin shoes. The MC called my name and I walked on like an Egyptian queen -slow, calm and serious. The reviews were the best I had ever had. I was a sensation. An overnight success, just like in the movies."
Nina Simone

Simone made her first trip into the studio in New York during 1957 to record her debut album Little Girl Blue (the exact recording date is unknown). In addition to her piano playing and vocals, the session featured Jimmy Bond on bass and Albert "Tootie" Heath on drums. To say that her studio debut was a success would be a terrible understatement. At 25-years old, Simone's performance boasted all the passion and ebullience of youth, and all the skill and grace of a seasoned veteran. The album has since become a classic, and these were her very first recordings ever!! Simone would not record again for two years. In 1959 she signed a contract with the New York-based label Colpix Records. She recorded her second album for them, The Amazing Nina Simone, which is presented here as a bonus. The LP features her singing (and playing a little piano) with an orchestra (the personnel is unknown) under the direction of Bob Mersey (the final tune here, "Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out" was recorded during the same sessions but not included on the original LP -it appeared as a single). However, her big break consisted of the recording made during her September 12, 1959 concert at New York's Town Hall with the exact same rhythm section that had backed her on Little Girl Blue: Jimmy Bond and Albert "Tootie" Heath.

Nina Simone: vocals, piano
Jimmy Bond: bass
Albert "Tootie" Heath: drums
Bob Mersey's orchestra (only on tracks 12-24)

1. Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair
2. Exactly Like You
3. The Other Woman
4. Under The Lowest
5. You Can Have Him
6. Summertime (Instrumental)
7. Summertime
8. Cotton-Eyed Joe
9. Return Home
10. Wild Is The Wind
11. Fine And Mellow
12. Blue Prelude
13. Children Go Where I Send You
14. Tomorrow (We Will Meet Once More)
15. Stompin' At The Savoy
16. It Might As Well Be Spring
17. You've Been Gone Too Long
18. That's Him Over There
19. Chilly Winds Don't Blow
20. Theme From 'the Middle Of The Night'
21. Can't Get Out Of This Mood
22. Willow Weep For Me
23. Solitare
24. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out

wydano: 2010-10
more info:

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: