• Kod: FSST06
  • Kod producenta: 8436019586181
  • Wykonawca: Miles Davis
  • Nośnik: CD
  • Instrument lidera: trumpet
  • Cena: 48,99 zł
  • Poleć produkt

Mainstream Jazz
premiera polska:
kontynent: Ameryka Północna
kraj: USA
opakowanie: digipackowe etui

Editor's info:
The complete classic album Relaxin' with the Miles Davis Quintet, showcasing the Miles Davis Quintet with John Coltrane & Red Garland in top form. As a bonus, two complete consecutive 1954 quartet sessions have been added. Includes 8-page booklet with complete original liner notes and Down Beat reviews

Miles Davis' quintet was formed in 1955 and is widely regarded as one of the greatest combos in jazz history. Relaxin' is one in a series of four albums featuring the classic Miles Davis Quintet: Davis (trumpet), John Coltrane (tenor sax), Red Garland (piano), Paul Chambers (bass) and 'Philly' Joe Jones (drums). The program presents some tunes the quintet had been playing live, along with others that appear to have been improvised on the spot and which had never been previously recorded. This is the first version of 'If I Were a Bell' by Miles, who would include the tune in his repertoire until 1965. These are also the first versions of 'You're My Everything' and 'I Could Write a Book' by Miles, who wouldn't record any of these songs ever again. As a bonus to this classic album, we have added two splendid consecutive quartet sessions by Miles originally recorded for two different labels but showcasing the same personnel: Horace Silver on piano, Percy Heath on bass and Art Blakey on drums.

Tracks 1-6:
Miles Davis: trumpet
John Coltrane: tenor saxophone
Red Garland: piano
Paul Chambers: bass
"Philly" Joe Jones: drums
Hackensack, New Jersey, May 11, 1956 (5-6) & October 26, 1956 (1-4).

Miles Davis: trumpet
Horace Silver: piano
Percy Heath: bass
Art Blakey: drums
Hackensack, New Jersey, March 6, 1954 (tracks 7-12) & New York, March 15, 1954 (tracks 13-15).

1. If I Were A Bell 8:08
2. You're My Everything 4:49
3. I Could Write A Book 5:11
4. Oleo 5:52
5. It Could Happen To You 6:40
6. Woody'n You 5:02
7. The Leap 4:31
8. Lazy Susan 4:02
9. Take Off 3:40
10. Well You Needn't 5:24
11. Weirdo 4:45
12. It Never Entered My Mind 4:01
13. Four 4:01
14. Old Devil Moon 3:22
15. Blue Haze 6:06

total time - 75:42
wydano: 2009-07
more info: www.disconforme.com

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: